You need to enable JavaScript to run this app.

Nobel Prize in Chemistry awarded for work on lithium ion batteries that 'revolutionized our lives'

Scientists John Goodenough, Stanley Whittingham and Akira Yoshino won the 2019 Nobel Prize for Chemistry for the development of lithium-ion batteries, an important technology in enabling the world to move away from fossil fuels. "This rechargeable battery laid the foundation of wireless electronics such as mobile phones and laptops," the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences said on awarding the 9 million Swedish crown ($906,000) prize.
Suggested topics to explore:
See All Picks